Scan|Design Foundation






Home What We Fund Founders Programs Contact Scan|Design Furniture Links

International Sustainability Solutions - Urban Sustainability Study Tours of Denmark

     I-SUSTAIN partners with Public and Private leaders of the Built Environment to understand, adapt and further evolve Global Best Practices in Urban Sustainability.     

     For seven years I-SUSTAIN has researched, visited and documented Global Best Practices in Urban Sustainability.  It has led dozens of study missions to 9 countries introducing decision makers from the Pacific Northwest to best practices, and to experts responsible for their implementation. 

     Beginning in 2005, the Scan Design Foundation has sponsored trip scholarships for public employees to join the study tours to Denmark. The 2011 and 2012 Trips have focused on the details of developing an integrated transportation system, bicycle infrastructure, and developing a bicycle culture.

    Scholarship Recipients:


Hilda Blanco - Univ. of Washington -Architecture Professor

Richard Conlin - Seattle City Council          


Eric Anderson - Tacoma City Manager

David Bragdon - Portland Metro Council

John Creighton - Port of Seattle

Jim Fey - Tacoma City Manager

Randy Leonard - Portland City Council

Don Meyer - Foss Waterway Development (Tacoma)



Sam Adams - Portland - Mayor Elect.

Carol Binder - Seattle ED Pike Place Market

Barbara Grey - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Greg Johnson - Seattle Senior Land Use Planner

Mike Mann - Seattle Office of Policy Management

Tom Miller - Portland - Chief of Staff - Sam Adams

Dee Parvaz - Seattle Post Intelligencer

Steve Pierce - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Guellermo Romano - Seattle Dept. of Planning and Development

Robin Russel - Waste Consultant

Andrea Vanelli - Washington County - Senior Planner

David Yeaworth - Seattle City Council Pres. Chief of Staff



Lyle Bicknell - City of Seattle - Depart. of Planning and Development

Josh Brower - Seattle Planning Commission

Heather Burpee - Univ. of Washington - Architecture

John Hogan - Seattle Senior Code Development Analyst

Lisa Libby - Portland - Planning and Development

Joel Loveland - Univ. of Washington - Architecture

Mike O'Brien - Seattle City Council

Adrienne Quinn - Seattle Dept. of Housing

Lisa Quinn - Seattle - Feet First



Sally Clark - Seattle City Council

Marshal Foster - Seattle Dept. of Planning and Development

Robert Holland - Port of Seattle

Al Levine - Seattle Housing Authority

Bob Powers - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Clark Wilson - EPA



Chuck Ayers - Cascade Bicycle Club

Bruce Bachen - Seattle Public Utilities

Sally Bagshaw - Seattle City Council

Barb Culp - Bicycle Alliance

Sherell Ehlers - Seattle Public Utilities

Pam Emerson - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Tracy Krawczyk - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Nick Licata - Seattle City Council

Nancy Rottle - University of Washington

Darby Watson - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Barb Wilson - Seattle Planning Commission


Dongho Chan - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Kevin O'Neill - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Tom Rasmussen - Seattle City Council

Mary Rutherford - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Goran Sparrman - Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Sandra Woods- Seattle Dept. of Transportation

Sara Zora- Seattle Dept. of Transportation


< back to list


US Foundation
1001 Fourth Ave. Suite 4400, Seattle, WA 98154-1192
Phone 206-892-2092 • Fax 206-389-1708
Danish Foundation
Kuhlausvej 3, 9200 Aalborg

© 2006 Scan|Design by Inger & Jens Bruun Foundation